LEAP: Learning Enhancement Academic Partnership

TitleLEAP: Learning Enhancement Academic Partnership
Faculty/College/UnitVP Students
Duration1 Year
Project Summary

LEAP's (www.leap.ubc.ca) goal is to provide first and second year students with a coordinated and collaborative point of contact to access resources which support their academic success. With the re-opening of the Chapman Learning Commons (housed within the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre) in January 2008, our goal is to strategically integrate the virtual and in-person programs provided through LEAP and the Learning Commons as both initiatives have many common goals and objectives. LEAP provides learning support and opportunities for academic enhancement by offering access to online and campus-based face to face resources, peer support, tutorial sessions and technology supported tools. The Chapman Learning Commons' goal is to provide integrated support for research and information literacy instruction, writing assistance, learning skills programs and technology through one-to-one help, workshops, peer mentoring and virtual resources and services. The overarching goal is to support student success and to provide easy access to learning resources. (N.B. Both the Writing Centre and the Math Resource Centre will be working with LEAP this year to develop online tutoring resources in these respective areas).

Funding Details
Year 1: Project YearYear 1
Year 1: Funding Year2008/2009
Year 1: Project TypeSmall TLEF
Year 1: Principal InvestigatorBrian Sullivan
Year 1: Funded Amount125,000
Year 1: Team Members

Brian Sullivan, Office of the Vice-President, Students
Brendon Goodmurphy, Vice-President, Academic, Alma Mater Society
Shagufta Pasta, Executive Services Coordinator, Alma Mater Society / LEAP Co-Chair
Emily Chan, Tutoring Coordinator, Alma Mater Society
Michelle Lamberson, Director, Office of Learning Technology
Cindy Bourne, Coordinator, Learning Centre, UBC Okanagan
Simon Neame, Coordinator, Programs and Services, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
Ramona Montagnes, Director / Distance Education Instructor
Leah Macfadyen, Research Associate, Skylight / Distance Education Instructor
Margot Bell, Associate Director, Student Development / LEAP Co-Chair
David Whyte, Student Development Officer, Sauder
Janet Sinclair, Student Development Officer, Science
Erin Biddlecombe, Student Development Officer, Engineering
Tlell Elvis, Student Development Officer, Arts
Patricia Mirwaldt, Director, Health Services